From the Jornal of Ryft Starr

Day 43 A creature damaged my dwelling this morning while I was crafting.  I searched the ledger and found the creature to be named “Creeper”  I lost little but had to rebuild.  I fortified the outer wall and took this opportunity to build on my bunker.  I dug deeper into the mountain to make 2 additional rooms.  I have moved my bed into one of the rooms while the other remains empty.

Day 45 More unsuccessful days in the mine.  I have finished exploring the cavern I located with no luck on finding diamonds.  The crafting table contains many recipes that all hinge on that one component.  I took the afternoon to chop wood and replant my orchard.  I have rethought my mining strategy and believe I have come up with a more efficient mine that, if i am correct, would be easier on my tools and expose ore veins faster

Day 56 it’s a different world with the mine is productive.  Within the first few days of the new mining technique I had a dozen diamonds, stacks of iron, gold, and coal, and more Redstone than I could ever have use for.   I have turned my used room into a room that contains what the Ledger has dubbed an enchanting table.  The Ledger also notes seem to indicate that books are need to enchant with the most potent enchantments. I needed books.  Shelves and Shelves of books.  The Ledger says  the crafting table can make books, if supplied with the right materials.  I spent a few days on the surface along the coast line.  On the 3rd day I found sugarcane.  I harvested all that I could find and brought it back to the bunker.   I planted some near the swamp the in hopes that it would grow so I would not need to search for more.  It grew.  Now I have all the materials I needed to try my hand at enchanting.

Day 57 I finished the room for enchanting and built my first diamond pickaxe.  It was a beautiful tool.  The Ledger has nothing useful on how to enchant an item, only that it can be done.  I placed the pickaxe on the enchanting table the pages from the book flew open and landed on a page. I read the strange words from the book.  I felt cold as the pickaxe began to glow.  The torches dimmed and the book slammed closed as I was left with the luminous tool.  I brought the enchanted tool to the mine where stone shattered under its points.  The pickaxe seemed to cut though stone and ore with little effort and with little to no damage to the pickaxe itself.  I had my doubts but once again the Ledger has proven to be valuable and accurate resource.

Day 60 The mine is ever productive now.  I need to spend less and less time in it each day and have collected a good stockpile of metals.  I have even crafted Iron Armor that has protected me on several run-ins with the mindless zombies that wander in the mines.  I have slain many with a newly crafted iron sword as well.  Perhaps it is time, now that I have a firm foot hold, to explore more of this world that I have been stranded on.  The Ledger speaks of so many wonders that I have yet to see.

Leave a Reply

