Day 8

I’ve had Ubuntu for a couple of days now and figured out most of my basic stuff up, Chrome, dropbox, streaming to XBMC.  I still have to work on a lot of stuff before I am satisfied, streaming to the Xbox360, VNC maybe, desktop calendars (really maybe).   I have decided one thing beyond a doubt though.  I hate Ubuntu Unity.  The interface is awful, I don’t understand what is running in the background, how to access it, or how to change it.  It seems like the Ubuntu guys really wanted to make a launcher that is simple enough for people to use but they went to far and lost the tweakability that Linux is all about.

Where there is a will there is code, right?  I resolve to find something better.

I would seem that I am not the first person to voice disapproval of Unity.  Quickly I find many alternatives to Unity and being Linux, all are easy to install and configure.  The alternative that catches my eye is Gnome 3 (http://www.gnome.org/gnome-3/).   two lines of code later

sudo apt-get install gnome-shell 
gnome-shell --replace

Bam! Instantly looking so much nicer.

A quick switch of

And!

Now that’s an interface that I understand.  One last it of code to enable gnome-shell by default

sudo /usr/lib/lightdm/lightdm-set-defaults --session gnome-shell

Reboot and Success!

2 thoughts on “Day 8

  1. Aaron

    Unity is clearly designed with smaller touch screens in mind.

    Personally, I think it’s the same mistake that MS is making with Windows 8.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

