Socially networked

So I’ve come to a crossroads for my online identity. I have accounts with all the major sites, twitter, facebook, and buzz. I check them constantly I keep them updated with all the interesting things I find on the internet, random thoughts, and funny pictures I find. I do wonder whats the point of all this socialness? Sure looking at funny pictures will give people a laugh, but the majority of people that I know either don’t do all this social networking or check it so intermittently and don’t post feedback. So I’m stuck with several problems.

First, if I find a humorous morsel that I think a certain person would enjoy, I can post it to all three sites and hope beyond hopes that the person will see it or I can email them and deny the rest of my friends the opportunity to enjoy thee funny titbit that I found entertaining, they might like it. I suppose that I could do both, but thats a lot of work and a lot of redundancy.
Secondly, no everybody has as much time as do and are only members of one of these sites. So I have to keep constantly remember who is in which circle. I counter this by posting the same thing across all three networks, so the rare exception of overachiever gets to read my same posts several time. The poor saps.
Thirdly, I’d like to know if people like what I’m posting or if its just annoying. People are too polite to outright say my posts are annoying and block me before actually giving feedback. How am I suppose to grow when people do that?
Then each site has has its own quirks that I enjoy or despise with the fury of a thousand suns.
The largest of all the social networks. Its awesome to see most of my friends from both childhood and quasi-adulthood in one spot. Its the one feature that keeps me on facebook.
The flip side of that coin is that every other person THAT I HAVE EVER KNOW thinks that they can be my friend. Every single ex-girlfriend,every person that shared a high school with, and every other random person I have met since, have requested to be my friend. I click the handy ignore button only to see a new request days later like I didn’t see and ignore the first one. To all those people here is a quick aside.
I either wasn’t your friend or decided to stop being friends with you long ago. I know the difference between the ignore button and accept button. Stop it.
Then there are Games, quizzes, drinks, and various other filler that facebook allowed to bring their social network down to the Las Vegas side-alley it is.
I do like the threaded comment system and tagging of pictures. It allows a great social aspect to the site.
Hugely popular in the news but also the one that nobody seems to care about. I like this one because there is a huge list of quasi-celebrities, and services that I like to follow. Its easier to post on this that any other service. There are a plethora of channels to pass these posts to other sites eliminating the hassle of posting twice or three times. The ability to direct a post towards specific people, while not making the whole conversation private is nice.
I have a love/hate relationship with simplicity of the site. It means no games or virtual drink passing, but is also means that to follow a conversation between two people requires the cross referencing power of a CIA operations computer. Conversations between more than two are just impossible, which isn’t very social now is it? I dislike the fact I have to go offsite to see any media.
I’m neutral on the 140 character limits, with the exception that replies and links count towards that limit. URL Shorters are nice but why can’t I just use a little html code to make the link in line, like this.
The youngest of the sites and possible my favorite. Despite the privacy nightmare of its launch I have high hopes for this service. Threaded posts, in-line media, directed posting to individuals and groups, and the fact its in my FREAKIN’ email are just some of reason I’m excited.
It does require that people have a gmail account, i think you should also, which will give some people a reason to not use it. It also doesn’t have the ability to pass its posts onto other services like twitter does yet. It has a variety of ways to post to it but the easiest is still go to website and type in your post, which isn’t that hard just annoying for the mobile environment.
Conclusion:
*shrug* Were you looking for one? I don’t have it. I’m just thinking out loud.
Leave a Reply

